Crossing the road in Phnom Penh

19 Aug

Though I come from India, I will still say that the traffic on the roads in Phnom Penh is quite notorious. It is predominantly in the form of bikes / motor bikes and they do not follow any traffic rules. Hence crossing the roads here can be quite a nightmare. You have to keep looking in every direction (at any given point in time) as traffic can attack you from any side. It is like crossing a road filled with a herd of bullets and you are trying to cross in various matrix like postures. 🙂

Anyway, here the traffic signal is the best of all. When the man is red he is stationary, but when he is green he is actually running. Seems to me that the message is – Dont stop, or look around, just run for your life. 🙂

Enjoy the video of this traffic signal –

16 Responses to “Crossing the road in Phnom Penh”

  1. Kinara Shah :) (@KinaraShah) August 19, 2012 at 22:08 #

    LOL.
    Run for your life, apt!:D:)

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 19, 2012 at 23:33 #

      Thanks. Even I thought this was so funny and cute…

      Like

  2. Raunak August 19, 2012 at 23:08 #

    hahahaha…love the traffic signal…hilarious 🙂

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 19, 2012 at 23:35 #

      I loved it too.. We saw it one day and didn’t have the camera with us so came back the next day to just take this video… 🙂

      Like

  3. tchistorygal August 20, 2012 at 02:15 #

    Simple post, and so cute. Glad you went back to capture the running crosswalk man.

    Like

  4. Bianca August 20, 2012 at 04:18 #

    hahaha oh my gosh I am obsessed with that running man! thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Like

  5. rommel August 20, 2012 at 11:00 #

    I knew this from The Amazing Race. Driving in places like these get so nerve wracking.

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 21, 2012 at 11:15 #

      I saw it for the first time and was super amazed with this running man… Thought he was so cute… 🙂

      Like

  6. rommel August 20, 2012 at 11:02 #

    I guess, I meant driving, being a passenger and being a pedestrian…

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 21, 2012 at 11:17 #

      I am glad you wrote this… else I was going to write about the poor pedestrians like me…

      Like

  7. Tịnh Bối August 24, 2012 at 09:03 #

    Can’t be worse than crossing the roads in Vietnam. At least the Cambodians are calmer and more attentive.

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 25, 2012 at 23:51 #

      I haven’t been to Vietnam yet but this was quite an experience for us 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

