Mumbai Local

30 Jul

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.”
– Jawaharlal Nehru

I saw these words recently and felt that they rang so true. True, there is a lot to see around the globe, but in all our desire to travel at times we forget to appreciate / open our eyes to the beauty and uniqueness of the city that we actually live in. And as I have recently discovered that I have neglected to explore my own. Whatever I have seen of my city has been long ago as a kid, which now just exists as part of pictures in those childhood albums.

So, who am I? Well, I am a “Mumbaiite”, a term coined for anyone who has been born and brought up in Mumbai / Bombay or simply someone who has grown to appreciate it and call it home.

My Mumbai :)

My Mumbai 🙂

Once an archipelago of seven islands, Mumbai has today grown into a busting cosmopolitan metropolis, which more than 20 million people now call home. Across centuries, these islands changed numerous hands, starting from the Maurya dynasty, Gujarat Sultanate, Portuguese, English and ultimately India. This has given Mumbai its unique architecture with a mix of colonial heritage and the newer modern skyscrapers and an accommodating spirit to accept anyone. You can read more on it history here.

DSCN2355

More Mumbai :)

More Mumbai 🙂

Today, this city also wears numerous hats – it’s the capital of state of Maharashtra, the financial & commercial capital of India, home to the Hindi movie industry – Bollywood, centre for the Indian television industry, home to Marathi film industry, city with the largest slum, centre for textiles, jewellary, a port etc to just name a few. Mumbai’s culture is also completely cosmopolitan with a blend of the traditional and the modern. It celebrates numerous traditional festivals, offers food from around the country & the globe, offers music, theatre, entertainment and an active nightlife. It has also inspired numerous authors and film makers to explore its many facets and even write books and make movies  on it. It is a city with an “aspirational value” and known as the “city of dreams”, where loads of people (from all over the country) arrive everyday thinking their fortunes will change. With this it has also become the melting pot of numerous cultures, communities, languages and nationalities. It is a city of the night and one that never sleeps.  But best of all, no matter it’s limitations in size (since it’s a land locked city) Mumbai has space for everyone. I guess I could just go on and on about it.

Faces of Mumbai

Faces of Mumbai

In a nutshell this city offers an interesting opportunity to explore – its diverse architecture; a variety in terms of places of worship, food, customs traditions etc for various co-existing religions and communities; the colorful & unique local markets; its beautiful monsoons, somethings uniquely Mumbai, but most of all it gives an opportunity to explore its people and it’s never dying spirit. 🙂

So join me, as along with my other travels, I now pull up my socks, carry my camera and GET SET and Go to explore my heart & my home – Mumbai.

20 Responses to “Mumbai Local”

  1. srinivasatravelssmo July 30, 2013 at 14:33 #

    Your Blog posting and picture selection its nice and wonderful Mumbai you show on your Blog and inch by inch your explanation is nice i hope mumbai its nice city thanks for your Blog.

    Like

  2. anandkumarrs July 30, 2013 at 15:05 #

    While on Mumbai, pls read my post – “Mumbai a Hol(e)istic view” http://wp.me/p1dZc2-g4
    Feedback most welcome !

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 3, 2013 at 11:28 #

      I know. Sadly this is another truth about Mumbai 😦

      Like

  3. jahidakhtar July 30, 2013 at 15:37 #

    lovely clicks!

    Like

  4. Fae's Twist & Tango July 30, 2013 at 22:15 #

    I live in a city of 9000 people and not much of a historical landmarks either. I was not born in it and is no comparison. But I do understand your love for the city you call your home. As you know, next year I get to see your home and looking forward to it. Great post… and I love the photo of the children.

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 3, 2013 at 11:29 #

      Thanks Fae and I’ll send you a detailed email for Mumbai and Delhi 🙂

      Like

  5. chelseainheels July 31, 2013 at 00:50 #

    I agree, it’s so important to explore and appreciate the city in which you live. Great post!

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 3, 2013 at 11:29 #

      Thanks 🙂 I am hoping to discover many hidden gems too 🙂

      Like

  6. elle rigby July 31, 2013 at 19:54 #

    Looking forward to seeing your explorations of your own city!

    Like

  7. andreavytlacilova July 31, 2013 at 21:20 #

    I went to India two years ago and it had a huge impact on me. I love its spirit and colourfulness! 🙂

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 3, 2013 at 11:30 #

      Somehow India always invokes extreme responses from visitors – they either love it or hate it. I am glad that you are part of the latter 🙂

      Like

  8. foreignsanctuary August 1, 2013 at 06:40 #

    Many people travel to my hometown and when I was younger, I could never understand why. Sometimes we take what is around us for granted. But now, when I return, I always appreciate everything it has to offer!! Thanks for posting and have fun exploring your own piece of the world!!

    Like

    • getsetandgo August 3, 2013 at 11:50 #

      I so agree with you. 🙂 and want to explore my own city with a tourist lens. Also this gives me a feeling of being on the road when I am unable to actually travel 🙂

      Like

  9. kebhari August 3, 2013 at 11:08 #

    Your Blog posting and picture selection its very nice and wonderful Mumbai you show on your Blog and inch by inch your explanation is nice.

    Like

  10. sindhoooo December 2, 2013 at 15:15 #

    Amazing clicks Snigdha! Amchi Mumbai! 🙂 Lovely….

    Like

Leave a Reply

