Reviews of my stay Grandhotel Hessischer Hof

6 Jun

I am a budget traveler and so my choice of stays during any trip normally includes hostels, B&Bs or homestays. While I love such places to stay in, every once in a while I do like to stay in a nice luxurious property and enjoy the comforts that these properties have to offer. And on my recent stay to Frankfurt, I stayed in one such luxurious hotel – the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof Hotel.

Grandhotel Hessischer Hof. Pic courtesy - hotel website

Grandhotel Hessischer Hof. Pic courtesy – hotel website

As this was my unplanned trip, I hadn’t read much about the hotel before my trip but when I told people in Frankfurt where I was staying, they all said that I was so lucky to be staying there and that it’s an amazing hotel. By now quite curious, I couldn’t wait to check in into the hotel and see for myself what this hotel was all about.

I reached the hotel 2 hours before the actual check-in time, and the kind hotel staff prepared my room on a priority basis and gave it to me. But while I was waiting in the lobby, I was amazed by the beautiful lobby area. The only words that I could think of were stylish, elegant and filled with an old world charm. The bar in the lobby was straight out of a gentleman’s club in England and the furnishings from a stylish designer store. When my room was ready, a staff member accompanied me, showed me around and gave me a quick background to the hotel’s history.

The lobby bar

The lobby bar – love the books 🙂

Grandhotel Hessischer Hof Hotel is the only privately owned luxury 5-star hotel in Frankfurt and conveniently located opposite the Messe exhibition grounds. It has rooms in all categories, banquet calls and conference rooms with modern video conferencing technology. They have beautiful suites for business travelers and even for VIPs who have certain security requirements. Many sections of the hotel and the rooms have been recently renovated and guests have an option of staying in rooms either in classical style or modern design. The corridors of each floor has beautiful wall papers and the furnishings of all rooms have been tastefully done taking care of the smallest details. I especially loved the chandeliers in modern rooms, the gilded mirrors and the beautiful pictures of old Frankfurt in the classical rooms. Overall the entire hotel has a very English feeling to it and transports you back at least a couple of decades into the old world charm.

A gorgeous chandelier

A gorgeous chandelier

Love this table, candle stands and the old pictures of Frankfurt

Love this table, candle stands and the old pictures of Frankfurt

Gilded mirrors

Gilded mirrors

My own room was part of the recently renovated section with modern interiors. My room and bathroom were spacious with a lot of modern amenities. In my experience European hotel rooms are very small and so I appreciated the space in this room even more. A lot of design features in the room and the bathroom were simple yet extremely useful. For example, in the bathroom they have built a huge counter above the wash basin where you can keep all your cosmetics. There is ample space to spread things around and not be worried about them getting wet. I loved the views from my room too of “Mainhatten”. They also provide Molton Brown products 🙂

My spacious room

My spacious room

Mainhatten views from my room

Mainhatten views from my room

This hotel has a unique feature – they include a lot of otherwise paid services like mini-bar, spa, sauna etc in their room tariff itself. So you can enjoy all these facilities and not be worried about the exorbitant price being charged by the hotel. They also refill the mini bar at no additional cost. Outside their spa area, they have a beautiful terrace where you can relax and enjoy the views after a relaxing spa session. They provide complimentary wifi, access to the gym and drinks and snacks at the hospitality section from 5-7pm. One of the my favorite sections of this hotel was a nice quiet area with huge arm chairs in the lobby area. I sat here for hours with a book and no one disturbed me. There was a small bell at the table to call someone should you need anything. I saw a lot of bankers holding their meeting around in the hotel, guess that must be due to the proximity with the financial center.

Panoramic views from the spa

Panoramic views from the spa

The hotel is famous for its Restaurant Sèvres and the Jimmy’s Bar. The Restaurant Sèvres has an extraordinary display of exquisite Sèvres porcelain, which once belonged to the Princes of Hesse and was supposed to have been gifted to him by Napolean. I had dinner and breakfast in this restaurant and enjoyed the food and the service. The food was good and they finish dinner with an array of amazing chocolate. Despite limited options for vegetarians, the chef made a vegetarian starter especially for me. They also had a wide spread for breakfast and it included champagne. But for me, more than the food spread, the highlight was the amazing staff at breakfast. They were really attentive, served everything promptly with a smile and everyday as they saw me walk in, they addressed me by name and even remembered what I liked to drink and eat. It was amazing.

Restaurant Sèvres

Restaurant Sèvres

Sèvres porcelain at the Restaurant Sèvres

Sèvres porcelain at the Restaurant Sèvres

A vegetarian salad as starter

A vegetarian salad as starter

Gnocchi for my main course

Gnocchi for my main course

Yummy hot chocolate for desert :)

Yummy hot chocolate for desert 🙂

The Jimmy’s Bar is an American cocktail bar, well-known in Frankfurt for years, due to its excellent service, carefully crafted cocktail creations, live music and the sophisticated ambience. However I didn’t have time to visit it during this trip.

The best part about the hotel was its convenient location. It is located opposite the Messe exhibition grounds, is walking distance from the financial city center and a quick tram ride to the Central train station and the touristy sections. The tram station is just across the road. For shopaholics, there is new Skyline Plaza at a 5 minute walk and the Alte Oper and the Goetjeplatz were a quick walk too. In terms of other eating options, there are a few cafes and restaurants at a short walk from the hotel.

My verdict? I stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute I spent here. Though I would have loved additional vegetarian options to eat, their amazing chocolate and the convenient mini –bar made up for everything. I would like to thank the kind staff for making my stay comfortable and memorable and I can’t wait to return to Frankfurt and stay at this hotel again.

Disclaimer: My stay at the Grandhotel Hessischer Hof Hotel was sponsored but they didn’t ask me to write a favorable review nor eat all the yummy chocolates until I felt sick.

6 Responses to “Reviews of my stay Grandhotel Hessischer Hof”

  1. Juliana Lightle June 6, 2016 at 23:39 #

    Interesting. Very old Europe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Matea Pichet June 7, 2016 at 05:34 #

    Very beautiful hotel! x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sudhindra srinivas June 9, 2016 at 09:11 #

    This is a direct question but one that really intrigues me. Whom do you work for? Your travel stories are fascinating, detailed and fun to read. Must be such a joy to see so many cultures and partake in so many different experiences.

    Like

    • getsetandgo June 23, 2016 at 20:53 #

      You are rights and it is quite a direct question.. I do travel for work as I am a banker but majority of my travels are personal 🙂

      Like

  4. Chaitali Patel June 19, 2016 at 17:23 #

    Looks beautiful and sounds lovely! I agree once in a while pampering is always welcome! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

