Hong Kong Skyline through an iPhone lens

10 Mar

During my recent work trip to Hong Kong, I was staying at the Hong Kong main island (as I had all meetings around Central area). However I wanted to see Β the famous Victoria Harbor (rather float on this busiest waterway) and on one evening chose to take a ferry to visit Kowloon (instead Β of a metro or a cab). And I must say that I was not disappointed. The Hong Kong and Kowloon skylines are amazing and they look even more beautiful when they are completely lit up for the night with literally lights of every color.

Sharing a few pics below that I clicked using my iphone camera –

HK Convention Centre on the left and the city on the right

HK Convention Centre on the left and the city on the right

HK skyline by dusk

HK skyline by dusk

With a ship in the beautiful frame

With a ship in the beautiful frame

HK skyline all lit up

HK skyline all lit up

With a dragon boat. I love the red in this pic

My favorite with a dragon boat. I love the red in this pic

HK skyline

HK skyline

Kowloon

Kowloon

View of HK main land from Kowloon

View of HK main land from Kowloon

23 Responses to “Hong Kong Skyline through an iPhone lens”

  1. friendlytm March 11, 2013 at 04:22 #

    Hello, very beautiful night sceneries of Hong Kong. I am also using iPhone as my camera and I am very happy with the results except evening . Can you tell me what us the trick? Thanks.

    Like

    • getsetandgo March 11, 2013 at 14:10 #

      Thanks. I also find that the iphone camera is not as effective for pictures of evening and dusk. Thats why these pics are slightly grainy too. But it does take some decent pics if you do not use flash or zoom. Trust this helps.

      Like

  2. Matthew A Bennett March 11, 2013 at 19:53 #

    I love city lights, especially when there is a body of water in the picture! These are all very nice! Many people say the best camera is the one that you have with you when you need a camera. I love iPhone pictures!

    Like

    • getsetandgo March 13, 2013 at 11:34 #

      Hey Matthew, I love capturing the reflection of colored lights in the water and the sight of a setting sun against a city. Pretty much have it for every city that I have visited. And I agree, the best camera is one which is with u when u need it, light and convenient.

      Like

  3. Rhonda Sittig March 11, 2013 at 23:19 #

    beautiful light and texture– I’d love to see Hong Kong.

    Like

    • getsetandgo March 13, 2013 at 11:36 #

      It is a beautiful city with a lot of character and unique culture. It’s a must visit city.

      Like

  4. Nia Simone March 17, 2013 at 22:13 #

    I love these pictures. I love cities, especially at night. I agree with you, the red sails on the dragon ship are wonderful.

    Thank you for coming by my blog. I look forward to following yours.

    Like

    • getsetandgo March 18, 2013 at 16:19 #

      Hi Nia. Thanks for the beautiful words and for following my blog. Even I love capturing cities on camera in the night and reflection of multi colored city lights in water. I have at least one pic for each city like this. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Nia Simone March 18, 2013 at 17:02 #

        I’ll start doing the same thing, taking night photos! Thanks! Nia

        Like

      • getsetandgo March 18, 2013 at 18:03 #

        πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. janeanddavid March 18, 2013 at 06:06 #

    Beautiful photos!

    Like

  6. Amanda March 20, 2013 at 08:45 #

    Beauti

    Like

    • Amanda March 20, 2013 at 08:48 #

      My phone is playing up but I meant to say beautiful! A good friend of mine is enjoying a honkers work trip as we speak πŸ™‚

      Like

      • getsetandgo March 20, 2013 at 17:21 #

        Thanks Amanda and I am sure your friend is having a blast there πŸ™‚

        Like

  7. aFrankAngle March 22, 2013 at 16:53 #

    Views across the water are likely winners.

    Like

  8. Shweta Bhardwaj April 11, 2013 at 22:01 #

    Beautiful pictures & a beautiful blog Snigdha… I used my i-phone camera for the first time for my post ‘Pushkar & Ajmer’ and it turned out amazingly πŸ™‚ I look forward to reading your interesting posts.

    Like

    • getsetandgo April 12, 2013 at 10:52 #

      Thanks Shweta. I find the iphone camera as good as any point and shoot, and use it like that. Do you also experiment with instagram? I look forward to staying in touch, following your blog and yourn travel stories πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. i*Kan September 15, 2013 at 19:40 #

    Love the shot with the junk boat!

    Like

  10. My Unfinished Life (@MyUnfinishedlyf) January 22, 2016 at 14:24 #

    Lovely shots….. I completely fell in love with hong kong skyline..whether it was day time or the evenings!!

    http://www.myunfinishedlife.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

