Photo Essay: Venice through my camera lens

20 Aug

Venice. About 3 years ago I found myself in this city at a really short notice of 2 days. With no time to research or read on it, I was quite unprepared as to what to expect or the unique things to see and do here. So I just spent all my time just walking around and exploring the nooks and corners of this unique city.

Venice in one pic - Gondolas, Cupolas and Lamps

Venice in one pic – Gondolas, Cupolas and Lamps

As luck would have it kept raining all day. But I still managed to explore quite a bit of this city and capture some of its beauty through my camera. Sharing the same with you all via a photo essay below.

Venice - its buildings and canals

Venice – its buildings and canals

On first impressions Venice seemed to me to be a shabby, old and a dying city. But after wandering through it all day, I somehow felt that these characteristics lent an air of beauty, nostalgia, melancholy and mystery to it. I think it is this feeling that also lends the famous air of romance that people associate with the city.

Venice - Its age lends a unique character to it

Venice – Its age lends a unique character to it

Venice is a city teeming with centuries old history and art and is a photographers delight. No matter where you walk, there is always a sight or scene you just want to capture through your lens and in the memory cells of your brain forever.

One of my favorite shots of Venice

One of my favorite shots of Venice

Many buildings here have a beautiful mix of the old and the new. I loved this old building with its lovely windows and the modern additions of pipes and water storage tanks.

Venice - A beautiful mix of the old and the new

Venice – A beautiful mix of the old and the new

Venice is a city of many bridges and some of the most beautiful and ornate ones too. Apparently there are 417 bridges in all and 72 of them are private.

Bridges of Venice

Bridges of Venice

I recently read “The City of Falling Angels” by John Berendt wherein a local Count makes an interesting observation on Venetian bridges. He says that globally everyone sees a bridge as an obstacle. But for Venetians bridges mean transitions or links.  They go over them slowly and as part of a rhythm.

Bridges - For Venetians it means transitions or links.

Bridges – For Venetians it means transitions or links.

Venice is famous for its canals. There are a total of 177 canals and the main route of communication. Hence all houses have main gates on the side of the canal and a parking station for their boats in front of it. And in the evenings, with no cars and the boats moored for the night, Venice is one of the quietest places you would have ever been to.

Venice and its canals

Venice and its canals

Like we have street corners all over the world, Venice has canal corners 🙂 And not all canals are clean.

Canals and Corners

Canals and Corners

Venice is not easy for directionally challenged people like me to navigate. The lanes are narrow, with no names and numbers, and all look pretty much alike.

Narrow lanes of Venice

Narrow lanes of Venice

Venice is full of people no matter the season or time of day. Hence to make the most of your Venice experience the best way is to quickly explore the crowded touristy sights (and as early as possible in the day) and to then leisurely enjoy the empty bylanes and the other beautiful sights Venice has to offer.

I loved this clock though I dont know the name of the building

I loved this clock though I dont know the name of the building

In Venice, all articles recommend taking a ride in a gondola. But all my friends were strictly against it and instead recommended taking a normal water taxi instead for an authentic Venetian experience. They were all of the view that gondolas are too over-priced and not worth it. I stuck to their advice and didn’t ride one. But I felt they make beautiful subjects for pics.

The famous gondolas of Venice

The famous gondolas of Venice. Notice the chairs on board?

After my random walking around the city, at some point I found myself at one the most famous square in the world – Piazza San Marco.

Piazza San Marco - Loved the symmetry

Piazza San Marco – Loved the symmetry

I couldn’t visit the St. Mark’s Basilica from inside as the queue was just too long but I had a nice time clicking away some of its beautiful exteriors.

St. Mark's Basilica, Venice

St. Mark’s Basilica, Venice

The beautiful facade of St Mark's Basilica, Venice

The beautiful facade of St Mark’s Basilica, Venice

I love this pic of the Campanile and what I term as the dancing figurines 🙂

The Campanile at the Piazza San Marco, Venice

The Campanile at the Piazza San Marco, Venice

The Square provides ample opportunity of people watching and I loved this small kid. He was running after the pigeons and trying to get them to fly. But the pigeons just refused to oblige leaving the kid mystified 🙂

A boy trying to scare pigeons at the Piazza San Marco, Venice

A mystified boy wondering why these pigeons don’t fly, at the Piazza San Marco, Venice

I loved the beautiful pink lampshades all around the Piazza.

The beautiful pink lampshades at Piazza San Marco, Venice

The beautiful pink lampshades at Piazza San Marco, Venice

Many authors (over centuries) and filmmakers have been inspired by this city and looking at sights such as these, you don’t have to wonder why.

Lamps and Gondolas in Venice

Lamps and Gondolas in Venice

Tips for the trip –

  1. Venice is a pedestrian city and hence be prepared to walk everywhere.
  2. It is always extremely crowded and an expensive city. If you are planning to visit then be sure to book your accommodation as early as possible. I tried booking a place 2 days in advance and there was nothing available.
  3. The city is not that big and you can stay pretty much in any corner. You can also stay in another island and use a water bus to commute.
  4. Don’t buy souvenirs or eat at cafes in the touristy areas. Its super expensive and in majority of cases, a tourist trap.
  5. Many restaurants in Italy have a cover charge i.e. they charge you to sit at the restaurant and eat, a charge for regular drinking water and an additional service charge. If you are a budget traveler, then do consider taking a take-away and sit in any of the public parks and squares to enjoy your meal.

15 Responses to “Photo Essay: Venice through my camera lens”

  1. Niranjan August 21, 2016 at 13:13 #

    Lovely images.

    Like

  2. Saloni August 31, 2016 at 12:54 #

    Amazing blog. I am so happy to have seen these photos, it’s almost like I’ve been to these places.

    I love Venice too much 😀

    Like

  3. fortyandeverythingafter September 1, 2016 at 20:47 #

    I’ve never been to Venice yet, but it is somewhere I have wanted to go. Great tips for when I do finally male it. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. Ratna September 8, 2016 at 18:51 #

    I am planning to visit Venice soon. Your post helped a lot. great pictures. 🙂

    Like

    • getsetandgo September 11, 2016 at 19:36 #

      Thanks Ratna and have a great trip to Venice…

      Like

  5. dfolstad58 September 9, 2016 at 08:29 #

    Good advice and very interesting post because of your comments. I enjoyed it.

    Like

  6. Mio~Caro~Sole October 9, 2016 at 22:10 #

    I have seen tons of pictures of Venice but none like yours!! Stunning! And clearly you loved what you saw. I like your honesty about the not all canals being nice. Venice is on my list of places to visit, so all insight is helpful. So thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. Sonia Malysz December 1, 2016 at 10:00 #

    Beautiful photographs 🙂 I have been to Venice – one of my favorite cities 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.